Cambridge University Research Paper

This sample Cambridge University Research Paper is published for educational and informational purposes only. If you need help writing your assignment, please use our research paper writing service and buy a paper on any topic at affordable price. Also check our tips on how to write a research paper, see the lists of research paper topics, and browse research paper examples.

The University of Cambridge, it is generally accepted, came about as a result of a migration from the University of Oxford in 1209. The existence of a studium at Cambridge was recognized by a papal degree of Gregory IX dated June 14, 1233, and by about 1250 a draft of its statutes had arrived in Rome (Anglica MS 401). These were preceded by recognition from the Crown in 1231. The university’s first college, Peterhouse, was founded in 1284, and today there are thirty-one colleges, the latest, Robinson, founded in 1977.

The earliest studies of the university followed the usual pattern for medieval universities, with a particular emphasis on canon law, a trend encouraged by the foundation in Cambridge of large Franciscan and Dominican houses, to be followed by several other orders.

In 1381, in a manifestation of the Peasants’ Revolt, the townspeople of Cambridge made assaults on both the university and the colleges, notably on Corpus Christi College which, uniquely, had been founded by the amalgamated town gilds of St. Mary and of Corpus Christi (in 1352). This resulted, ironically, in royal charters greatly increasing the university’s dominance of the town, including the oversight of weights and measures and other dayto-day business.

Although royal and papal recognition came earlier to Cambridge than it did to Oxford, Cambridge was certainly the lesser of the two universities until the English Reformation in the sixteenth century. Cambridge men were dominant in both church and state under Henry VIII (e.g., Thomas Cranmer) and Elizabeth I (e.g., William Cecil and John Whitgift), but during the English Civil War (1642–1649), when the royal court removed to Oxford, the balance was reversed.

Academically, Cambridge’s eminence was enhanced in the early eighteenth century by the pupils of Isaac Newton, and for more than a century thereafter mathematics was the prime field of study and the only subject in which examinations for degrees were conducted. In the nineteenth century degrees became available in law (1816) and classics (1824), and later in the century other honors courses were introduced, natural sciences first, then moral sciences (philosophy) and gradually others. Although students of the natural sciences were at first few, it was this school that from the 1870s raised Cambridge to the status of a world-class university, with researchers coming from far and wide to work with the physicists James Clerk Maxwell (Cavendish Professor of

Experimental Physics, 1871–1879) and his successors  J. W. Strutt, Baron Rayleigh, J. J. Thomson, and Ernest Rutherford. Since Thomson (1906), Cambridge has been home to some thirty Nobel laureates, including Francis Crick and James Watson, the discoverers of DNA, and since Rayleigh and Kelvin (1902) some forty holders of the British Order of Merit. A roll call of the many earlier luminaries connected with Cambridge must include the teachers Erasmus of Rotterdam, St. John Fisher, Roger Ascham, Sir John Cheke, Richard Bentley, William Whewell, Lord Acton, Sir James Frazer, G. H. Hardy, Bertrand Russell, John Maynard Keynes, E. M. Forster,  F. R. Leavis, and Ludwig Wittgenstein; and the alumni Oliver Cromwell, Charles Darwin, and the poets, to name but a few, Edmund Spenser, Christopher Marlowe, John Milton, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Samuel Coleridge, and William Wordsworth.

Barring several false starts in the medieval period and one (Durham) in the seventeenth century, Cambridge and Oxford were the only English (as opposed to British) universities until the 1840s. Given that, they have naturally been the universities of choice for long-established families and schools, and although there was always a variable amount of scope for the admission of the less affluent, in recent years the catchment of both universities has expanded vastly. Except in the sixteenth century, Oxford historically maintained closer relations with church and state (thus sending out more future prime ministers and archbishops), but Cambridge was never very far behind, sending out mathematicians and poets, as well as competing with Oxford for places in the civil service, seats in Parliament, and other influential positions. Some of this perception of prestige continues today, but it has been amply supported by recent national and international rankings that attract students, especially graduate students, from all over the world.

The colleges of the university, in order of foundation, are:

1284: Peterhouse

1326: Clare

1347: Pembroke

1348: Gonville Hall; refounded 1557 as Gonville and Caius College

1350: Trinity Hall

1352: Corpus Christi College

1441: King’s College

1448: Queen’s College; previously St. Bernard’s College (1446); refounded 1465; and known as Queens’ College from c. 1831

1473: St. Catharine’s College

1496: Jesus College

1505: Christ’s College, incorporating Godshouse (1439)

1511: St. John’s College

1542: Magdalene College, incorporating Buckingham College (1428)

1546: Trinity College, incorporating King’s Hall (1317) and Michaelhouse (1324) and expropriating Physwick Hostel (1393) from Gonville Hall

1584: Emmanuel College

1596: Sidney Sussex College

1800: Downing College

1869: Girton College

1871: Newnham College

1882: Selwyn College

1885: Cambridge Training College for Women, now known as Hughes Hall, Recognised Institution of the University 1949

1892: Fitzwilliam Hall, housing noncollegiate students, known as Fitzwilliam House from 1924; full college status as Fitzwilliam College (1966)

1894: Homerton College, moved to Cambridge (formerly in London from 1822) as a teacher training college; recognized by the university as an Approved Society (1977)

1896: St. Edmund’s House, a Roman Catholic training college recognized as a House of Residence; recognized as an Approved Society (1965); known as St. Edmund’s College from 1985

1954: New Hall

1960: Churchill College

1964: Darwin College

1965: Lucy Cavendish College

1965: University College, known as Wolfson College from 1973

1966: Clare Hall

1977: Robinson College

Of these, Newnham, New Hall, and Lucy Cavendish are for women only, and Darwin, Wolfson, and Clare Hall are for graduate students.


  1. Brooke, Christopher. 1992. A History of the University of Cambridge, Vol. 4: 1870–1990. Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press.
  2. Leader, Damien Riehl. 1988. A History of the University of Cambridge, Vol. 1: The University to 1546. Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press.
  3. Leedham-Green, Elisabeth S. 1996. A Concise History of the University of Cambridge. Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press.
  4. Morgan, Victor, with contribution by Christopher Brooke. A History of the University of Cambridge, Vol. 2: 1546–1750. Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press.
  5. Searby, Peter. 1997. A History of the University of Cambridge, Vol. 3: 1750–1870. Cambridge, U.K.: Cambridge University Press.

See also:

Free research papers are not written to satisfy your specific instructions. You can use our professional writing services to buy a custom research paper on any topic and get your high quality paper at affordable price.


Always on-time


100% Confidentiality
Special offer! Get discount 10% for the first order. Promo code: cd1a428655